Austrian / Prussian fortress turned art center
Luxembourg Travel Blog› entry 4 of 6 › view all entries
It was raining quite a bit so, no walking around town before leaving.
We stopped at Fort Thungen, built by the Austrians in 1732. It was modernized by the Prussians in 1837 and was only saved from demolition by the picturesque aspect of it’s Three Acorns Redoubt. The name comes from the acorns of it’s towers.
It now contains the Fortress Musuem and is a close neighbor of the glass pyramid of the Grand Duke Jean Museum of Modern Art that mirrors the p ointed form of Fort Thungen.
It is a unique style as it resembles no other, anywhere in the region. It looks more of the style of many Spanish, Italian, or even Eastern European religious buildings. Here is it unique and special.
We couldn’t find parking and so….we parked in a place we shouldn’t so that we could get out and take a look. We were fortunate that as we approached the car to leave, the security person approaching our car…..turned around and left.
As we were working our way down the hill continue on our way to Vianden, we had to stop for a Medieval tower that the road curved around and continued through it’s arched gateway….only in Europe, too cool!
We crossed beautiful rolling countryside with picturesque colorful villages that required our paying a bit of attention.