Uxmal, "Built Three Times"
Uxmal Travel Blog› entry 2 of 27 › view all entries
Uxmal, "Built Three Times", (Yucatec Maya: "oxmáal), is a large Maya site located 34 miles south of Mérida on Highway 261. Many buildings have been consolidated and restored. Currently little in the way of serious archeological excavation and research has been done at Uxmal. Accurate dates of occupation are not known. The population is estimated to have reached 25,000. Most visible architecture is estimated to have been built between 600 AD and 1100 AD. Uxmal was founded by Hun Uitzil Chac Tutul Xiu around 500 AD. The Xiu family controlled Uxmal until after the Spanish arrival. Sometime after 1200 AD all new monumental construction ended at Uxmal. This end of construction may possibly be related to the fall of Chichen Itza (Ally to Uxmal) and the shift of power in Yucatan to Mayapan and the Comom family.
It should be noted that before archaeologists began restoration and consolidation activities that Uxmal was in better condition than most other Maya sites because of superior construction materials, engineering, experience of the labor force and work ethic. Most structures were built with well cut stones set into a core of concrete, not relying on plaster to hold the building together.
The Palace of the Governor is a long low building erected on a huge platform, it is the longest facade in Pre-Columbian Mesoamerica.
The Adivino "Pyramid of the Magician" is unusual in several ways.
The majority of all of the hieroglyphic inscriptions present at Uxmal are on a series of stone stelae.
The first detailed account of Uxmal was published by Jean Frederic Waldeck in 1838. John Lloyd Stephens and Frederick Catherwood visited Uxmal twice in the early 1840s. Désiré Charnay took a series of photographs of Uxmal in 1860.