The Galapagos

Galapagos Islands Travel Blog

 › entry 2 of 9 › view all entries
The Galagagos are probably best known for being the islands that inspired Darwin's The Origin of Species. Incredibly, in spite of growing tourism and the impact of human habitation, the islands have changed relatively little since Darwin's time. Tourism is managed intelligently by limiting the numbers of tourists allowed at any of the islands at a time and by using smaller boats to cruise between the islands instead of big cruise ships. A Galapagos cruise is like no other. Don't expect luxury like traditional cruises, do expect otherwordly landscapes, incredible creatures, an adventure you won't forget!
The archipelago consists of 15 islands, of which 5 are inhabited. All have their own character and interesting points. The best way to visit would be on a boat tour. Land based tours are also available (and a bit cheaper) but since the islands are quite far away from each other, you won't see as much and will be spending a lot of time at sea. Trips are available in different durations, mostly 4 to 5 days, 7 to 8 days, or 10 days. The shortest trips really don't allow much time on the islands because the first and last days are travelling days from the mainland (a 2 to 3 hour's flight).

The Galapagos are also known as one of the premier dive spots of the world. But even if you are not a diver you can enjoy the underwater world on a snorkelling trip. We snorkelled at a couple of islands and swimming with the sea lions was one of the highlights of our trip! And we swam with sharks! Twice! I never imagined I would be doing such a thing in my life!
Join TravBuddy to leave comments, meet new friends and share travel tips!
Galapagos Islands
photo by: Melboorn