Upper Sandusky Travel Blog› entry 2 of 14 › view all entries
Preserved from our past history, the Old Wyandot Mission Church is the site of the Methodist's first North American mission. This structure has been restored over the years, and displays historical pictures and documents. In the summer months, a service is still held in the building and has even had weddings performed there. This building dates back to the 1820s, and is designated a national shrine by the United Methodist Church. It is located on the north side of town in the Old Mission Cemetery.
Located in the center of the city is the Wyandot County Historical Society Museum. This Normandy-style mansion was built in 1853, has 11 rooms, and contains artifacts of the area. Clothing, kitchen utensils, period furniture, antique toys, dolls, and games.
Also, in downtown Upper Sandusky is the Wyandot County Courthouse. The courthouse attracts many visitors and is considered a unique structure for its style and the interior paintings. These paintings adorn the foyer with a three flight marble staircase in the middle. The court room on the third floor was used in the movie, "The Shawshank Redemption." Lady Liberty stands high above on the dome.
Other buildings with historical background in the city are the Wyandot County Jailhouse, several older style churches, and many buildings lining the downtown area. Most businesses in the downtown area are locally owned and operated. During the past several years, a downtown beautification project has transformed the area to include benches, brick sidewalks, and ample lighting. It is a safe city to take a walk after dark during the warmer months.
Just outside of the city, you will find the Indian Mill State Memorial and Milling Museum. Open limited hours (mainly on the weekends in the warm months), the mill was built by the U.S. Government for the Wyandot tribe.
Wyandot County boasts two covered bridges, both crossing spans over the Sandusky River. The Swartz Covered Bridge, built in 1880, is located south of Upper Sandusky on County Road 130. The Parker Covered Bridge is north of Upper Sandusky off of State Route 67. The structure was partially destroyed by fire a few years ago, but a county wide effort was held to rebuild and restore the bridge originally built in 1873. Both are open to daily traffic.
The McCutchen Overland Inn was a stagecoach stop dating to 1829. Recently restored, the inn was a popular spot for visitors traveling on the old Harrison Trail. Yearly the inn is used to host the Historical Society's annual fund raiser.
There are other sites in the area marking historical events and battles. Someone in the area recently put together a walking tour of Upper Sandusky, and the Upper Sandusky Area Chamber of Commerce is an excellent resource stop.