How unique Indonesia is..

Indonesia Travel Blog

 › entry 1 of 2 › view all entries
Map is taken from Komodo National Park Website
Indonesia’s name came from “indos nesos” which means Islands near India. Indonesia is the largest archipelago in Indonesia with a thousand islands, 17,508 to be precise, scatter in an area between the Asian continent and Australia, and between the Pacific and the Indian oceans. There are five main islands in Indonesia which are Sumatera, Jawa, Kalimantan, Sulawesi and Papua. These islands are populated by many tribes with different culture and languages. There are about 583 languages and dialects spoken in the archipelago. These languages belong to the different tribal groups of the populations. Some of the specifically different local languages are: Acehnese, Batak, Sundanese, Javanense, Sasak, Dayak, Minahasa, Toraja, Buginese, Halmahera, Ambonese, and several Irianese languages.


There is a national language spoken across the country which is called Bahasa Indonesia. The language originally was Malay language.  Even though Bahasa Indonesia has become the lingua franca, local languages and dialects are continue to be spoken and will not be eradicated.


Based on different tribes, languages and dialects in Indonesia, therefore Indonesian’s slogan is Bhinneka Tunggal Ika which means Unity in Diversity.


ted332 says:
Yes, I'm proudly going to Indonesia June2008!!! Woohoo, can't wait!
Posted on: May 24, 2008
rintjez says:
I'm glad you learned something about my country! Thanks for the smile :)
Posted on: Jan 21, 2008
Aopaq says:
Thanks for the great overview....I learned so much! :)
Posted on: Jan 21, 2008
Join TravBuddy to leave comments, meet new friends and share travel tips!
Map is taken from Komodo National …
Map is taken from Komodo National…
Sponsored Links