Main information

Holy Cross Mountains Travel Blog

 › entry 15 of 15 › view all entries

┼Üwi─Ötokrzyskie Mountains (Holy Cross Mountains), are a mountain range in central Poland, in the vicinity of the city of Kielce. In most part the chain consists of a number of separate ranges, the highest of which is ┼üysog├│ry. The two highest peaks are ┼üysica at 612 meters (2008 ft) and ┼üysa G├│ra at 593 meters (1946 ft). Together with the Jura Krakowsko-Cz─Östochowska the mountains form a region called the Lesser Poland Upland. Their area is 1684 km┬▓ (650 mi┬▓). Approximate location is 50┬░53ÔÇ▓N, 20┬░55ÔÇ▓E.

The Świętokrzyskie Mountains are one of the oldest mountain ranges in Europe. They were formed during the Caledonian orogeny of the Silurian period and then rejuvenated in the Hercynian orogeny of the Upper Carboniferous period.

From the early Middle Ages the mountains were a place of extensive copper and iron mining. Later they were also a significant site of limestone and red sandstone extraction. At present, the center part of the mountains contains the Świętokrzyski National Park.

The name, Holy Cross Mountains, refers to a Christian relic from a nearby Benedictine monastery on Łysa Góra. It is a small piece of wood from the Holy Cross on which Jesus Christ was crucified.

Join TravBuddy to leave comments, meet new friends and share travel tips!
Holy Cross
Holy Cross
Holy Cross
Holy Cross
Holy Cross Mountains
photo by: scarlettwitch