#1 11-26-2017 7:05 AM

bennn123
Couch Potato

Travelling to Thailand and Vietnam

Hi Guys,

Just need a bit of advice as its my first time travelling. I will be travelling to Thailand for 30 days and onto Vietnam for 30 days. What would be the best way to explore these two countries? Would you get a package deal from a travel agent or is it easy enough to just go and explore and then buy the tours while you are out there?

Any advice would be great

Thank you

#2 11-26-2017 9:00 AM

ulis
Uli
Vienna, Austria
Award: Community LeaderAward: Photographer IVAward: Critic IVAward: Writer IIAward: Happy Happy HappyAward: TravelpedianAward: Bedbug IIIAward: Vox Populi IIAward: Most Helpful Hotel Reviewer (Past Winner)
Wanderer

Re: Travelling to Thailand and Vietnam

There is no need for a tour in Thailand, except for trecking, this is better to book localy when there. Thailand is a very easy country for traveling by yourself. For Vietnam you will need a visa. For Halong Bay and the Mekong delta you will need a tour, book also that localy. Sinh Cafe www.sinhcafevn.com is quite good, also for open bus ticket from Saigon to Hanoi with several possible stops on the way. But be careful there are several fake Sinh Cafe agencies.

#3 11-26-2017 5:25 PM

cynthiasmiller
Cindy
Seattle, Washington
Award: Community LeaderAward: Photographer IAward: Critic IIAward: Writer IAward: Happy Happy HappyAward: TravelpedianAward: Vox Populi I
Tourist

Agreed, there's no need to book a tour in Thailand.  Since this is your first time traveling, it might be worth your while to look into day tours until you get more comfortable getting around independently.  Thailand is pretty easy to get around, but most people don't speak English.  So you may need some extra help if you run into a snag.