#1 10-12-2017 4:06 AM

es1418
Eric
Bowie, Maryland
Award: Photographer IAward: Critic IAward: Happy Happy HappyAward: TravelpedianAward: Vox Populi I
Tourist

For what things are you willing to pay more when you travel?

Today I was considering purchasing an upgraded airline seat for an 8-hour flight, but I find it hard to part with more than three times the price of an economy ticket for a bit more leg room, even though I have long legs and would definitely benefit from the extra space. This got me thinking about the things I’m willing to pay a premium for when I travel – I’m relatively new to traveling and a minimalist to boot, so I have yet to learn this about myself.

How about you? Which things are you willing to skimp on when you travel, and on which aspects of traveling will you pay higher prices?

#2 10-12-2017 4:17 AM

ulis
Uli
Vienna, Austria
Award: Community LeaderAward: Photographer IVAward: Critic IVAward: Writer IIAward: Happy Happy HappyAward: TravelpedianAward: Bedbug IIIAward: Vox Populi IIAward: Most Helpful Hotel Reviewer (Past Winner)
Wanderer

Re: For what things are you willing to pay more when you travel?

Sometimes i pay more for nice food, If i have a very long distance bus trip and there are different qualities of buses i might pay more for that (but some companies claim it's a deluxe bus and then it is't) and in a night train i buy a couchette if available.

#3 10-12-2017 4:38 AM

pfsmalo
Paul
Saint Malo, France
Award: Photographer IAward: Critic IIIAward: Happy Happy HappyAward: Bedbug IAward: Vox Populi IAward: Most Helpful Hotel Reviewer (Past Winner)
Tourist

I agree with Uli on overnight travelling, whether it be bus, train or boat, certainly worth the extra money for a lay down and a reasonable nights sleep.

#4 10-12-2017 5:21 AM

grandmar
RosalieAnn
Leonardtown, Maryland