#1 11-17-2009 3:19 AM

vixie580
Vicky
Cheshire, England
Sightseer

Backpack help...

Eurohike Colossus Transporter 65+15 Litre Travel Pack anybody got this one? looks fine to me but im no expert wink
the wheels are a necessity for me (bad back at only 21 its not good!) and that fact its reduced to £60 is appealing....
other than that iv spotted the Berghaus Jalan 65+15 Ladies 2008 but its £60 dearer!

any advice welcome! thank u xx

#2 11-17-2009 3:51 AM

jockchristie
Award: Vox Populi II
Wanderer

Re: Backpack help...

Pretty sure Eurohike is blacks/millets own brand so its probably not as high quality as a Berghaus, so I'd really check out the quality of the handle/wheels.  If they break then your carrying around an extra 1.5Kg of dead weight.

My mate has a similar Berghaus bag, minus the wheels, its really good quality but we couldn't work out how the 'biofit' system worked, well I think eventually we did work it out but it would only go half way up so he looked like he was carrying around a turtle shell.

If you have a bad back then its worth getting a woman's bag, if you get the bag set up properly it will put most of its weight onto your hips/waist rather than carrying weight on your shoulders.

#3 11-17-2009 9:49 AM

crienoloog
E.C.
Bonaire, Netherlands Antilles
Couch Potato

The thing with back packs is that you always buy one way too large and therefor end up with way too heavy back pack to comfortably hiking around with.
Learn to pack less and less every time, once you really start traveling, you will find you don't miss the items you haven't packed. But do take a small day-pack on the front. Do practice packing over and over again.