#1 6-12-2009 11:33 PM

msjulicious
Couch Potato

Narita Airport - procedures before flight departure

Hello! This is my first time flying overseas. I am curious of what I need to know before boarding my flight in Narita Airport.

1. How early should I arrive before my flight leaves? (In America they recommend 2 hours before your plane's scheduled departure.)

2. What are things that are not allowed on the plane? Is this any different from America's regulations?

Thank you so much!

#2 6-13-2009 12:26 AM

smuffygt
Joshua
Warren, Pennsylvania
Award: Community LeaderAward: Photographer IAward: Happy Happy HappyAward: Vox Populi I
Tourist

Re: Narita Airport - procedures before flight departure

1.-Would be a good idea. Make sure you get TO Narita early as well for your flight. I missed mine because I didn't realize Narita was actually an hour away from Tokyo!

2. I found the rules were very similar. The only difference is that they were way more strict about electronic devices. I would still recommend checking with the airline you plan to fly with for specifics. I flew with ANA, but I'm not sure if there are others or not. If you obey basic rules I'm sure you'll be fine. Everyone was super friendly an very helpful for my flight. Best of luck and have a great time!

#3 6-13-2009 8:24 PM

twinklingstar
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Couch Potato

I always aim to get there 3 hours before, primarily as the queues at certain times can be hectic and others non exsistant!

I have never had issues with taking equipment (I-pod/laptop etc) onto flights,  though I usually fly BA/Asiana out of Tokyo so this may differ. Check with your airline as when I have flown with United, they appear to do an extra check before boarding the plane/remove water bought airside from fellow passengers when I've flown with them from HK. (granted I only use them to HK-HCMC, this may differ again..)