Florence Court House
59 Marble Arch Road, Florence Court, Ireland
028 6634 8452
Florence Court House Reviews
Feb 23, 2008
Situated amongst the mountains and forests of West Fermanagh, Florence Court is a fascinating example of mid-18th century Irish Palladian architecture.
The present house, the former home of the Earls of Enniskillen, was started by John Cole and completed around 1775. It was named after Florence, his wife.
One of the chief glories of Florence Court is the exceptional embellished rococo plasterwork, seen at its best at the top of the stairs and in the dining room. This probably dates from 1755 and is in the style of Robert West, Dublin's leading 18th century stuccodore.
The house contains fine Irish furniture including an 18th century rococo armchair in the library, an Irish writing cabinet which dates from 1730 and an unusual 18th century bed.
The house is surrounded by a large area of parkland, garden and woodland including the recently restored walled garden where the pink and white roses are especially attractive in early summer.
How to get there:
8 miles SW of Enniskillen, via A4 Sligo Road and A32 Swanlinbar Road, 4 miles from Marble Arch Caves.
Join TravBuddy to leave comments, meet new friends and share travel tips!